The Friendship Baptist Church Memorial Scholarship

This rural churchin Close City, 8 mileswest of Post, Texas, voted on July 29, 1973 to disband after 7 years of devoted service The 10 resident members continued 6 meet for several months and on February 3, 1974, voted toper petuate their ministry by transferring most of heir remaining assets into an endowed scholarship fund at Wayhd Baptist C

C.D. Nowell, E.D. Gayle, R.E. Bratton, Ed Bates, Abert Gage, Shelby Bishop, D.J. Peters, Ronnie Killingsworth. T. Nixon, Wayne Sistrunk, Jesse DeBord, and Mike Johnson.

The church has been known for its strength in missions, cheminational loyalty, and emphasis of youth development.

Several membersalive been associated with Wayland asstudentsor parentsof students, usch as Aice Rankin Barron, James Barron, Frances ParronSpencer, Jim Spurgeon Tipton, and Clementine Tipton. At least 8 o