## **The Lakeview Baptist Church Scholarship**

The Lakeview Baptist Church was organized in 1936 and met in the old Lakeview Methodist Church. The early records are lost so some of this is from the memories and recollections of past members.

There were five charter members of the Lakeview Baptist Church. They were: Mr. and Mrs. E.C. Hughes, Mr. and Mrs. J.D. Jones, and Mr. J.H. Collier.

Brother H.K. Horn was called as pastor and served until Lloyd Murphy was elected. Brother Horn was pastor at Meadow and he served both churches. The church moved to the vacant Lakeview School building and served the community there until the vacant Henderson Grocery Store was purchased, right across the road from the McNabb Gin (now the Lakeview Gin).

In later years, after a lot of new people moe une t 3=b ¡B ÁB !!w°qB r ç!B!¡B ÿ|~ zw§((!§Ýà pf died and a few went to other churches. The Lakeview Baptist Church held its last official services on December 2, 1990, with the only 6 people still in regular attendance. Like so many country churches, it served its purpose—with many conversions and baptisms. The preachers that were ordained and went on the serve the Lord were: Tom Harmonson, Ross Harmonson, Jr., Louis Cass, Glynn Ensor, and O.D. Simon.

Missionaries in service were: Eva Lois Harmonson and Diane Newman; there may have been more. The church helped with these missions: Petty Mission, Lynn Co., Texas; Liberty Baptist Chapel, Liberty, Kansas; Kearny, Arizona and Gresham, Oregon.

The church won the Rural Church Achievement Program Award in 1957, and many other recognitions. They owned a cabin at the Baptist Encampment near Floydada and it was used by many people, young and old alike.

Pastors of the Lakeview Baptist Church were: W.K. Horn, 1936-42; Lloyd Murphy, 1942-43; Arthur Wright, 1943-45; Lee Vaughn, 1945-47; R.D. Hill, 1947-48; P.C. Goza, 1948-50; Vance Zinn, 1950-53; Hubert Austin, 1954-55; Don Murray, 1955-57; Henry Flippin, 1957-58; S.L. Yielding, 1958-60; Phillip Goodrum, 1960-64; Bruce Stovall, 1964-67; Dub Farley, 1967-70; Jay McCasland, 1970-71; Clarence Tedder, 1972-74; Paul Kenley, 1974-75; Mike Stafford, 1976-77; Don Lane, 1977-78 and Oscar Newell, 1979-90.